Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Hide a WiFi network
Dieselstation Car Forums > Multimedia > Electronics & Technology
Bjorn
I have a bit of a problem at work.

We rent a space from another business, and as part of our rent get internet access.

They have a sys admin who is insanely paranoid, and only wants registered users on "his" network.

Because we rely so much on freelancers there is a constant stream of new people with laptops in our office. I want to provide them with WiFi, but the sys admin says NO. There is no reasoning with this guy, and the people we rent space from have complete faith in him.

I set up a WiFi network last year, one of those ones where you have to know the name to find it, thinking that would keep it hidden, but the sys admin found it because it was constantly assigning new ip addresses.

I'm not very technical, but I was wondering if any of you would know a way around this. I thought of having static IPs on the WiFi router, so it wouldn't appear like they're rotating, but I don't know if that'll work.

Cheers
Razor
Nope. If you're on IPv4, he can simply +1 scan the entire (probably small) range of IPs or simply the internal-facing local IPs and he will ALWAYS find your access point provided you're using their internet to serve the thing, regardless of whether or not it has a static IP.

Furthermore, there are devices built to pick up wifi signals on a basic electromagnetic wave level in order to diagnose interference issues. WiFi is essentially impossible to hide from someone who knows what they're looking for.

Resistance is futile.

Sorry.
shandyman5
QUOTE(Bjorn @ Oct 24 2011, 11:33 AM) *
I have a bit of a problem at work.

We rent a space from another business, and as part of our rent get internet access.

They have a sys admin who is insanely paranoid, and only wants registered users on "his" network.