Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Renting Lenses
Dieselstation Car Forums > Multimedia > Photography > Gear & Equipment
MichaelKalbo
OK, I need a lens for an upcoming shoot and dont have the funds to buy it.
So, I'm looking to get one.

I've never rented a lens before and I know my local camera store charges a bit more than any of the ones I've found online.

I'm curious to hear experiences from those who have rented lens before, I'm a little hesitant because I've never done this before but I know it's the only option I have... so can anyone recommend me a place to rent a lens.

Any reviews of rental places...etc.
what company did you use?
how was your experience... etc.

Thanks

Michael
Seethegrim
Well I can't really help with your local hiring places, but I rent lenses all the time. I've got such a great relationship with my local suppliers that very often they give me half day rental (they're not meant to) or they let me keep the lens(s) for an extra bit of time at no charge.

For me I just can't justify buying a $2500 lens when I only use it 5 times a year. The lenses I do use all the time I do buy. And I only own like 3 lenses. But renting is the way to go. Nothing wrong with renting gear.

Most of the full time commercial guys rent EVERYTHING. There are a couple commercial advertising photographers here by me who don't even own a camera...! They hire for everything. Because at the end of the day, the client pays for the hiring. I always slot it in under "lighting & rigging" on my quotes/invoices. And its a tiny fraction.
MichaelKalbo
Ya, I'm thinking from here on out I'll just start renting lenses. Especially during these times where it is a bit hard to justify buying a $2,000 lens that would only be used seldom
C.Lunn
I've rented a few times from borrowlenses.com and had really good service. I was hesitant my first time and called and I'm sure sounded retarded but the guy was extremely helpful.
Jacob Photo
Where are you located?