Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Spec out a decent laptop for me
Dieselstation Car Forums > Multimedia > Electronics & Technology
dukenukem
Ok. The Powerbook I have been using since 2005 is starting to show its age. Time to replace it with something else .. not sure what. I have not really kept up with computing news so I am not sure what the specs for a decent desktop replacement laptop are.

Things I will be doing on it.
1. Stream netflix
2. Watch HD videos/ movies
3. Play some computer games. Doesnt have to be able to render Crysis in full resolution but should be good enough to play some old school and some new games
4. Blu ray player would be preferred.
5. Not sure if SSD drives are cheap enough yet to be worth it or not.

And it should be 15" or less. Not too fond of lugging around 17" bohemoths.

I don't really have a budget set right now .. lets just say <$1000. Cheaper the better

So what are my options?
dukenukem
any one?
Aircooled
I :heart: my desktop, no laptop is going to give me 4 terabytes of space, 8 gigs of ram, dual 512mb graphics cards, and show it to me on 28" of screen. I have a macbook and detest it. Get a decent run of the mill dell or hp.
moe
Srsly, you should've just sent a PM to Flaw.
Flaw
The ASUS N61-Series, if you're leaning towards multimedia (although I figure you realize you're only going to get 720p playback on the actual screen, you'd need to utilize the HDMI out to push 1080p), otherwise the G-Series if you're leaning towards gaming (and if you can catch a deal for under 1k, its right around that range though).

In my honest opinion, I don't see you getting anything but the 13" MBP (you can easily fetch one for under 1k). I don't mean to start the APPLE vs PC thing, but no matter how good Win7 is you'll be quick to point out how the grass is greener on the other side as soon as you find the first fault in 7.