Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Light and Colour Consistancy across paint
Dieselstation Car Forums > Multimedia > Photography > Technique & Tutorials
Dale.T
Hey guys,

I'm pretty new to car photography but i have been a photographer for many years in different fields. I shot these photos with 580's and composed them together. I'm having a hard time getting even lighting across the panels and getting that nice silky consistency in the paint. I find colours like yellows and reds easier but this ones quite difficult. I used a polariser to reduce reflections and bracketed the shots. Maybe my photoshopping skills need to be improved. I'm fairly happy with everything about these shots except for the most important thing, the car..Any tips?

#1- The best one of the set i think, Consistent colour and depth in the paint.

#2- Pretty blotchy on the lighting and darks across the paint. I think bad flash work on location. Bad windscreen and bonnet, not sure how to fix, maybe a different angle.

#3- Paints kinda washed out even after photoshopped. Sort of consist across the whole car.

#4- Polarised bonnet but not side. Pretty consistent across the front.

These are my comments after looking working on these images. Let me know yours.

Thanks
Nate047
practice practice practice... even if you've shot other types of photography for years, cars are a whole other beast.

The images in this set look like victims of sloppy post processing (especially number 3), and poor light placement. you can't just put a light on the front and a light on the side and call it good, that shit never works.