Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Blending mutliple exposures in Photoshop
Dieselstation Car Forums > Multimedia > Photography > Technique & Tutorials
OzCarSightings
Hi guys,

I'm a bit of a noob when it comes to Photoshop and this is something I've wanted to know how to do for a while. Googled but haven't found a suitable tutorial.

Say I have 2 (or more) photos which are the same except one has the polarizer adjusted for the hood and the other for the doors, how do I combine/blend them together? Same deal if I took two photos with the flashes lighting different parts of the car and I wanted to combine it to make one final image.

Perhaps I'm not searching for the right terms but I can't find any answers, so if someone could explain or point me in the right direction that'd be great. smile.gif

Thanks.
GFWilliams
First, import the images so that they are 1 image to each layer.*
Make sure they are perfectly lined up.
Select the higher layer and change the layer blending to darken (if you are doing the double polariser trick).
Lighten mode can be used for blending flash exposures.

*You can go File > Scripts > Load files to stack then select the images you want to layer up and automatically align them.
OzCarSightings
Thanks mate, legend! Just tried it (with the polariser) and worked a treat.
DB9
Nice, I needed this too
GFWilliams
Glad it helped smile.gif
OzCarSightings
Now, to take this one step further - what if you wanted to blend specific parts of different images together (rather than relying on PS to "darken" or "lighten")? Can you select parts of the image before changing the blending mode? I'm not at home currently so can't try it out.
GFWilliams
I think what you mean is to add and remove parts of lighting from the image.

If so, turn each layer into a layer mask and add/remove the parts you want or don't want.

HTH
Racersky