> So WTF does everyone do for a job?
Bjorn
post Jun 10 2012, 08:16 AM
Post #1

Race Driver

Group: Members
Member No.: 4,080
Car: 2009 Subaru Legacy

Like the "been up to" question, only more focused on your job.
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
OHirtenfelder
post Jun 10 2012, 10:13 AM
Post #2

That guy that you know does what!

Member No.: 4,226
Car: 1971 BMW 2002, 2008 Audi A3 Sportback

Same as I've been doing for a while now. I work as an 'in-house' photographer for a local (South African) motoring magazine called Accelerate, and I also freelance as a photographer. Most of the freelance work is as an automotive photographer, but some other stuff as well.

A pretty kick ass gig all round. I'm always driving the latest (and sometimes greatest) cars and having fun shooting them. Somewhat of a dream job, pity the pay is not as good as it should be.

What do you do Bjorn?

+Quote Post
Bjorn
post Jun 10 2012, 12:15 PM
Post #3

Race Driver

Member No.: 4,080
Car: 2009 Subaru Legacy

I'm a producer with CBC Radio.

I find interesting people for our Current Affairs hosts to interview and then I set everything up. Only been at it for a month now, but it's great work. Much better pay than working for newspapers (what I was doing before).

I would love to work for a car magazine though. That was the reason I got into journalism five years ago. Unfortunately to do that, as a Canadian, you pretty much have to live in Toronto (and even then there are very few Canadian car magazines). I have considered a few times moving to NYC or California...but I think the path to being an Automotive journalist might be closed to me now. I can't leave a good paying job I like to chase a dream like that...not with a wife and kids.

+Quote Post
clarkma5
post Jun 10 2012, 12:18 PM
Post #4

Talkin' the talk since 2003

Group: Admin
Member No.: 27
Car: 2004 VW GTI 1.8T

I calibrate scientific instruments for physical oceanography for this company: http://www.seabird.com/